We have noticed you are using an older version of Internet Explorer. To ensure complete functionality please upgrade your version of Internet Explorer.

Update IE
Pre-license state


Get our insurance prelicense bundles for one low price. They are compiled specifically for future insurance professionals in Idaho. As always, check with your state agency to make sure your selected program meets all local requirements.

Individual Courses

learninsurance.com is a fully accredited provider of mandatory insurance continuing education (CE) course work for preparing for examination through the Idaho Department of Insurance. Our courses are 100% online and include everything you need to fulfill your CE requirement to renew your Idaho Insurance License. Provider – 360training.com, Inc. #840

*Please note: The State of Idaho Department of Insurance requires a $1.00 per course credit hour filing fee surcharge on all CE packages and courses. This surcharge will be added to your final transaction amount upon order confirmation.

We recommend you check your state’s requirements prior to enrolling.

*General credit hours count for either property and casualty or life and health.

Course Name
Credit Type
Course Delivery
Credit Hours

* Indicates course duration. This course is not for credit hours.

State Requirement

Continuing Education Hours

All resident producers are required to complete 24 hours of continuing education (CE), including three hours of Ethics or Insurance Law every two years.

Continuing Education Compliance Date

Continuing education is due by the last day of the producer’s birth month, biennially.

License Renewal Date

As of September 18, 2007, license renewal date is birth month, biennially.

Types of Courses Accepted for CE Credit

  • Independent self-study courses.
  • Classroom study.
  • Online courses.

Final Exam

Self-study final exams are not required to be monitored.

Course Subject Requirements

  • All agents must take three hours of law/Ethics each licensing cycle.
  • Producers selling long-term care insurance must complete an initial eight-hour course on long-term care prior to selling long-term care policies and a four-hour course biennially thereafter. Initial compliance must be met by November 1, 2007. Credits may be applied to overall CE compliance.
  • All Idaho insurance producers licensed in property, casualty, or personal lines of authority who sell flood insurance through the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) must complete a one-time course related to the NFIP which will provide three hours of CE credit no later than April 1, 2007.

Carryover Requirements

Producers are not allowed to carryover credits to the next compliance period.

Course Repetition

Courses may not be taken for credit more than once in a reporting period.


  • Nonresident agents
  • One individual specifically registered in an organization who holds a limited license to sell a limited line only
  • Temporary licenses
  • Limited agent for credit life and disability insurance
  • Licensees who have applied for and been granted inactive status by the insurance director
  • Employees or owners of travel agencies licensed to sell travel insurance
  • Licensees on extended active military duty are exempt for the period of duty
  • National- or state-chartered banks, federal- or state-chartered savings and loan associations, or federal- or state-chartered credit unions that hold a limited license
  • Other exemptions will be granted if good cause exists as approved in advance by the CE Advisory Committee

For Additional Information Please Contact

Idaho Insurance Department
Licensing Division
Third Floor, 700 W. State St.
Boise, ID 83720-0043
Contact/Phone # (208) 334-4339

Student Experience for CE

  1. Student will pay and enroll in the course.
  2. Student does not need to answer security and validation questions throughout the course validating the identity of the student. (State does not require a monitor or proctor during exams)
  3. No mastery on lesson quizzes.
  4. Upon the successful completion of the course, the student can take an open book final exam.
  5. Student will be allowed to take the final as many times as he wants.